The 49th Annual Convocation Ceremony of IIT Delhi

The 49th Annual Convocation Ceremony of Indian Institute of Technology Delhi was held on November 3, 2018.

The former Chairperson of Thermax Limited Ms Anu Aga was the Chief Guest on the occasion.

Mr. Kumar Mangalam Birla, Chairman, Board of Governors, IIT Delhi presided over the Convocation ceremony.

Speaking on the occasion, Mr Birla said: “To the graduating students of the B.Tech, M.Tech and Ph. D programs, this is a milestone. To the undergraduate class who graduate today, you entered this great Institute four years ago, as boys and girls. You leave its portals today as enlightened men and women. Finely moulded by the outstanding and dedicated faculty at this Institute of eminence.”

He highlighted three attributes that defined the contours of one’s life. “The three attributes, I want to call out are -- Ambition, Courage and Teamwork. Ambition raises the level of achievement in every team, organization and society and helps individuals realize their potential.”

Courage, he said is the most important of all virtues in society. “This trait is needed for innovation. Innovation that happens at the intersection of different disciplines. The final attribute that I value greatly is that of team work, the ability to be not just a star, but a star team player Most people work in physical teams, but your generation will work a lot more in virtual teams since geographical boundaries are mere lines in a digital world.”

On this occasion, Prof. V Ramgopal Rao, Director, IIT Delhi presented a report on the achievements of the institute.

Prof. Rao said that the report underlined the efforts as well as achievements of IIT Delhi not only in imparting high-quality technical education but also towards addressing a very large range of societal needs through the application of Science & Technology.

“We are working towards the triple objectives of Excellence, Expansion and Inclusion. We plan to achieve these objectives by focusing on the 3 I’s, namely Internationalization, Interdisciplinary Research, and Industry Connect,” Prof. Rao said.

Maintaining that IIT Delhi has registered around 53% increase in the total number of women candidates this year through JEE Prof Rao said: “The actual number increased from 91 in 2017 to 139 in 2018. PG and PhD programs are continuously seeing an increase in the number of women candidates which stands at around 28% at present.”

Observing that research and development had witnessed a buoyant trajectory, Prof Rao said: “During this convocation, IIT Delhi is awarding 378 Ph.D. degrees. This is indeed a moment of pride for all of us. Over 60% of registered students at IIT Delhi are currently Masters and Ph.D. students. Institute has over 2500 Ph.D. students on its rolls right now.”

During the 49th Annual Convocation, 2064 graduate students have been awarded degrees/ diploma.

This year, President’s Gold Medal has been awarded to Mr Rajesh Kumar (B.Tech., Mechanical Engineering), Director’s Gold Medal to Ms Sanjana Garg (B. Tech., Chemical Engineering) and Dr Shankar Dayal Sharma Gold Medal to M. Tech. student Mr Parikshit Pareek.

Perfect 10 Gold Medal was awarded to four students and Institute’s Silver Medal to 14 students.

The President’s Gold Medal is awarded to a student, being topper amongst all graduating students for highest academic achievement / CGPA, while the Director’s Gold Medal is awarded to a student for his achievements in Academics as well as extracurricular activities.

Dr. Shankar Dayal Sharma Gold Medal is awarded to a student who is adjudged the best among all M.Tech graduating students for General Proficiency including Character & Conduct, Excellence in Academic Performance, Extra Curricular Activities and Social Service.

Perfect 10 Gold Medal is awarded to those students who secure CGPA of 10 out of 10.

During the Convocation ceremony, the Institute also honored the following alumni as recipients of the Distinguished Alumni Award:

  • Mr Raghu Hari Dalmia (B. Tech., Mech. Engg., 1972), President OCL India Ltd., for his contributions in public service and policy.
  • Mr Sumant Sinha (B. Tech., Civil Engg., 1987), Chairman and Managing Director, ReNew Power Limited, for his contributions in Corporate Business Development and Enterpreneurship.
  • Dr. Venkata N. Padmanabhan (B. Tech. CSE, 1993), Principal Researcher, Microsoft Research India, for his contributions in teaching and research.